A Little Country; Don Gibson

This post has been replaced.  Please click on: Don Gibson

I seem to be getting a little melancholy in my old age.  When I was growing up, long before I heard Gee by the Crows, I was influenced by my dad who listened to up-tempo music, Dixieland, Honky Tonk, Swing and Country.  Now when the Rock and Roll Era was in full bloom around 1958 I remember a Country Singer named Donald Eugene Gibson.

Don Gibson

Now Don is no longer with us; he died in 2003, but he did cross over from Country to Pop and wrote some great songs.  He wrote one of the most recorded songs ever “I Can’t Stop Loving You” and “Sweet Dreams” to name a couple.  But the ones that I remember where: “Oh Lonesome Me” “Blue Blue Day” and my favourite “Sea of Heartbreak“.  I always liked the country arrangements and his voice.

Don Gibson – Oh Lonesome Me


Don Gibson – Blue Blue Day


Don Gibson – Sea Of Heartbreak


- Gary
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Don_Gibson

–o–

Leave a Reply

