Daily Archives: January 19, 2012

Hi Heel Sneakers / Tommy Tucker

I would like to talk a little bit about the two people who produce this Blog. First off myself, Gary who writes and provides the music, and Russ who does all of the posting and generally takes care of the Blog maintenance.

Even though we where not close friends in High School, in our old age and meeting each other again, we found one huge thing in common, “Music”.

Now, Russ is the musician; he loves much more intricate types of music, and generally understands the compositions much better than I do. Me, I’m just a straight ahead Rock & Roller, nothing fancy. That’s why I like old Dick Clark’s American Bandstand rating system: “It has a good beat and you can dance to it”. It is for that reason that I will show you just how simple I am. There are probably 100 great songs I really enjoy and my top 10 would surprise you. I am an “Old” Rocker by definition.

So with that in mind I will spotlight two songs. I think they are both by definition 12 bar blues; if they are not, Russ will remind me.

The first one I will pick is a song that I truly enjoy. It has been done by lots of Artists. Now this song, which made it too #11 on Billboard in 1964 is Tommy Tucker’s “Hi Heel Sneakers”.

It has been recorded by many people, so I will present some of the different versions that I enjoy.

(The other song is in another Post: “Big Boss Man“)

Tommy Tucker

Tommy Tucker

VIDEO:

Tommy Tucker / 1965 Shindig /
.

Hi Heel Sneakers:
Tommy Tucker Lyrics/Checker 1067/4/29/64/ #11 Billboard


Other versions I enjoy:

1. Shindig/October 1964/Leon Russell and the Shindogs in a great live version of High Heel Sneakers
.

2. Luther “Houserocker” Johnson

3. Buddy Guy & Junior Wells

4. Paul McCartney

5. Dee Clark

6. The Everly Brothers

And just to keep my “Jazz” Partner happy…

7. Ramsey Lewis:


Tommy Tucker (born Robert Higginbotham, (March 5, 1933 – January 22, 1982) was an American blues singer and pianist. He was born in Springfield, Ohio.

Tucker is best known for the 1964 hit “Hi-Heel Sneakers” that went to number 11 on the Top 40 U.S. chart. Over 200 artists have covered this song. These include: Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, Stevie Wonder, Paul McCarthy, Sammy Davis Jr., Janis Joplin, Tom Jones, John Lee Hooker, Cleo Laine, Pharoah Sanders, Jerry Garcia and The Grateful Dead and many more.

“Hi-Heel Sneakers”  has appeared on several documentaries, movies, commercial jingles and television sitcoms, plus sporting events, magazines and every genre of media and music. It was voted in the Top 5 as a rhythm and blues standard in the history of music.

From Ready, Steady, Go / Jerry Lee Lewis / Hi Heel Sneakers /

–o–