Looking Back! 1965

Gary: “This would be a fairly decent year for me, but the world had it’s problems. The conflict in Viet Nam was expanding and the US was committing tremendous resources, money and soldier’s lives. This was having an impact on North America, but especially in the US. It is so sad, because it would turn out to be basically a civil war.

This was my “What If” year. Have you ever had a “What If”? This would apply to my 2nd unofficial engagement and unfortunately, time and distance was against it.

Looking Back
Toronto
1965
This year would turn “our generation’s official voice”, Robert Zimmerman (Bob Dylan) from Acoustic to Electric, with a Canadian group which eventually would just be called “The Band”.

I would spend a lot of time in Washington D.C. to visit my friends, but then there was this girl – “the what if” girl.

Gary’s “Wat If” girl

She was from West Virginia and her name was Nancy Canterbury.

Gary’s 1965 girl, Nancy Canterbury

These are the only pictures I could find, but it has been 47 years. We would travel from the US to Canada and back quite a few times, but distance and circumstances were just not meant to be, and the relationship did not thrive. In my life she was the one woman that I always wondered, what if…

I was still working in Computer Sales, but was getting restless and started looking around.

The music on Toronto’s Yonge Street was Fantastic, but after another failed romantic or matrimonial disaster, I started questioning “ME”.

News items that I remember from 1965:

.
Alan Freed, who is credited with the phrase “Rock & Roll”, dies at the age of 42. He was crucified by the Payola Hearings (Dick Clark survived by divesting himself quickly). It was just a witch hunt, Payola was the accepted practice, everyone did it, the US Government never liked Rock and Roll and used any outlet they could just to squash it. I believe that Alan Freed (not completely innocent) was just the largest icon they could go after. Always keep in mind, Freed promoted all of the “Black” groups of the Fifties, much more than white Rock and Roll. I believe that people in power “Never” forgot that, and he paid dearly.

Alan Freed & Terry Nolan, Buddy Holly, Jackie WilsonAlan Freed collage

.
NBC television airs a show called “Hullabaloo” in Colour, to compete with the Black and White “Shindig”.
Hullabaloo: First picture is “Little Joe”, yes, Michael Landon…Michael Landon
and 2nd picture is Lesley Gore.

Lesley Gore

.
Hedy Lamarr dances with Host Jimmy O’Neil on Shindig 1965

Shindig’s Hedy Lamarr dancing with Host Jimmy O’Neil

.
A Soviet Cosmonaut takes a Space Walk, Aleksei A Leonov 

Alexei Leonov, first space walk

.
Racial tension explodes in the Watts Neighbourhood of Los Angeles
.
We loose Sir Winston Churchill

The State Funeral of Sir Winston Churchill

.
We also loose Nat King Cole
.
and Bill Black
.

On the Silver Screen in 1965:

Best Actor / Lee Marvin / Cat Ballou (I loved this movie) 

Best Actor of 1965 – Lee Marvin in Cat Ballou

Best Actress / Julie Christie / Darling

Best Actress of 1965 – Julie Christie

Lee Marvin and Julie Christie with their Oscar awards

.
Best Picture / The Sound of Music 
.

Other Movies I enjoyed in 1965:

.
The Bedford Incident / 
.
The Cincinnati Kid / 
.
Doctor Zhivago / 
.
Those Magnificent Men & their flying Machines / 
.
The Hill / 
.

New on Television 1965:

.
The Dean Martin Show 
.
Hogan’s Heroes 
.
I Dream of Jeannie 
.
I Spy 
.
Lost in Space 
.
The Big Valley 
.

The Cars that I enjoyed in 1965:

.
Plymouth Barracuda 
.
Ford would introduce the Mustang. It would be a 1964 & 1/2 car, the sales in it’s 18 month inaugural model year would hit 680,000. Ford would also introduce it’s Controversial overhead cam 427 racing engine with over 600 bhp.
.
Mustang / 
.
Corvair Corsa 
.
Pontiac Bonneville
.
Pontiac GTO 
.
Sunbeam Tiger
.

Music from 1965:

The music was heavily dominated by British Groups, but the changes were coming and Motown was starting to flex it’s Muscle, Folk Music and R&B were gaining ground.
.
The Beatles in 1965:
Eight Days a Week / Ticket to Ride / Help / Yesterday / We can work it Out 
.
The Rolling Stones in 1965:
The Last Time / Satisfaction / Get off my Cloud 
.
The Sound of Silence / Simon & Garfunkel 
.
Gary Lewis & the Playboys
This Diamond Ring / Count Me In / Save your heart for me / Everybody loves a Clown/ She’s Just My Style 
.
My Girl / The Temptations 
.
Shotgun / Jr. Walker & the All-Stars 
.
She’s about a Mover / Sir Douglas Quintet 
.
Wooly Bully / Sam the Sham & the Pharaohs
.
Help Me Rhonda / California Girls / Barbara Ann / Do you Wanna Dance / The Beach Boys 
.
I Got You Babe / Sonny & Cher 
.
In the Midnight Hour / Wilson Pickett (the guitar player is Jimi Hendrix)
.
Subterranean Homesick Blues / Like A Rolling Stone / Positively 4th Street / Bob Dylan ( Robert Zimmerman) 
.
You were on my Mind / We Five 
.
Hang on Sloopy / The McCoys 
.
Keep on Dancing / The Gentrys 
.
Treat Her Right / Roy Head & the Traits 
.
I’ll be Doggone / Ain’t that Peculiar / Marvin Gaye 
.
You’re the One / Five O’clock World / The Vogues 
.
Jenny take a Ride / Mitch Ryder & the Detroit Wheels 
.
Rescue Me / Fontella Bass 
.
Eve of Destruction (the first protest song) / Barry McGuire 
.
You’ve Lost that Lovin’ Feeling / Unchained Melody / Ebb Tide / The Righteous Brothers
.
Catch the Wind / Universal Soldier / Donovan (Leitch)
.
You turn me On / Ian Whitcomb 
–o–
3 responses to “Looking Back! 1965

  1. omg Gary, you’ve filled it all in for me!!!
    was too busy with “other stuff”, my second son was born June 3oth, we still didn’t have a tv……wouldn’t get one ’til ’70………buying a home and furniture to put in it was top of the list………
    thanks so much for all your work and also, letting me know what was happening in the “other world”!!!
    Keep in goin’ eh!!!

  2. Gary…My Dad had a Barracuda!!! Oh how I loved that car!!! ( He would pick us up from our moms for our weekends (divorced) and we would FLY down the highway!!!!! Great memory!!!

  3. Thank you for the music and the facts behind them. Music is the world to me. I can tell you what was going on with me by the song better than a diary ever could. Like the first time I heard Ebb Tide, i was working at Muntz in Van Nuys Ca, loading blank tape cartridges into slaves and loading music. or Cast Your Fate To The wind, i was sitting on the top of a hill above the Leo Carillo State Beach camp grounds with my radie watching the sun disapear into the ocean. I can’t get enouph of your site. .

Leave a Reply

