Otis! – Gary

I was doing my usual cleaning of the recreation room, that’s when I am allowed to play everything really loud, mainly because Birgit was not here.  During my loud cleaning I sat down for a few minutes and pulled out a truly “Classic” DVD performance.  I have 48 mins of Otis Redding at his best in 1966 & 1967 at the Monterey Pop Festival.  It’s audio is pretty good for the time and the fact that it was live.  The Great thing about the Stax/Volt Revue is that it of course had Otis, but also Sam & Dave.  But that’s not the best part, Stax/Volt always sent the house band which was (Ta- Da!) Booker T Jones & the MG’s, which were Keyboards Booker T Jones, Drums Al Jackson, Guitar Steve Cropper and Bass Donald “Duck” Dunn and then the horn section was the Mar-Keys (of Last Night Fame) and they were Trumpet Wayne Jackson, Saxophone Andrew Love & Floyd Newman.  This would only interest people like us, but to see all of those musicians in their prime, well I think is special.  The European part is black and white and Monterey is in Colour.  To see Otis sing the song he wrote “Respect” is just great.  It’s too bad that the big man has left us.  If you ever want a copy of this, just let me know.  It would not appeal to everyone, but just to see not only Otis and Sam & Dave, but Steve Cropper and Donald “Duck” Dunn in action, well I enjoyed it and I do go on.  The Stax/Volt Studio of course had Wilson Pickett, Johnnie Taylor, Eddie Floyd, Staple Singers and so on.  It was a great era that will never repeat itself.  Of course the controversy goes on as to whether MG’s are the car or Memphis Group, and I do not care – they were great.  This is the best I can do. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQszoQJT0Tc
– Gary
Leave a Reply

