Sonny Burgess – Gary

I looked it up in my database (I have 15,381 songs listed) I just have to find the CD.  But I did find my Instrumentals and the History of where it all started for me “Sun Records” in the early fifties. 

Yes they had Elvis, Roy Orbison, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis, but they had others that really created early rock…

Sonny Burgess, one of my favourites, but his records were hard to find in Ontario in 1956, because Sun was such a small label.  We Wanna a Boogie and Red Headed Women on one disc.  On the liner notes they have been described, and this is an exact quote:

The songs have been described as “among the most raucous, energy-filled recordings released during the first flowering of rock and roll.” Their onstage antics in performance were similarly described.
He had a trumpet in the original band.  This is circa 1956.

Sonny Burgess – Red Headed Woman

Sonny Burgess – We Wanna Boogie

– Gary

See also our post:

–o–

One response to “Sonny Burgess – Gary

  1. Pingback: Early SUN Records: The Transition – Sonny Burgess | Russ & Gary's "The Best Years of Music"

Leave a Reply

