Rosie (Hamlin) & The Originals

Gary: “I am partial to hard edged Rock and Roll or Rockabilly, but I also love Grindin’ Music, Yes that’s what we called it back in the 1950’s.

Here is absolutely one of my favourite ‘Grinder’ songs of all time. This one was professionally recorded – not a chance thing like another favourite “In the Still of the Night” by the Five Satins, which was recorded in a Church basement (but they could never improve or recreate that sound). This one was recorded in an old abandoned aircraft hanger in San Marcos, California on 2-track equipment, but that was the take that was eventually put on a label by a very ruthless record company who took them for most of the royalties.

Rosie Hamlin was 14 years old when she wrote a poem “Angel Baby“. She eventually wrote the melody for her poem but was never given credit.

How it got to the market in 1960 is a story about musicians that worked for it. Although they were thoroughly screwed over by their record company, the song is in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s, One Hit Wonder Wall.

I have 3 CD’s with the song on it, but only one is the accurate version. Even Time Life‘s “Rock and Roll era 55 through 60”, which they guarantee is original, is not quite. In all fairness only a person like myself, who absolutely loves the song, would notice the missing 8 or 9 seconds, but I did. But I have one that is totally accurate and that’s the one I have posted here.  Unfortunately we lost Rosie March 30, 2017.

Here is another song by Rosie and The Originals you may not have heard:

Now, here is a little bit of a rattlesnake for you.

After completing “Angel Baby” the group had to record a B side…  They got a friend of theirs, Bluford Wade, to sing the B side, called Give me Love.  If you listen to both sides, they do not sound like the same group, because Rosie does not sing on it.  I like the B side. It’s not polished; it’s raw and really different.

Now keep in mind this is the same group, The Originals; Alfred Barrett was not there (because he had to stay home and cut the grass) and Tony Gomez, the bass player, did the sax solos.  It is definitely very simple, but that’s why I enjoy it so much… definitely not over-produced! Today they have the  tendency to over produce everything just a little bit;  in the past, this was not the case, as you can hear!

I found an actual live video.  It is not with the Originals, but it’s at Heinz Hall in Pittsburgh.

For more details about Rosie,  click here.

-Gary

–o–

5 responses to “Rosie (Hamlin) & The Originals

  1. Hey, Great stuff. I like the rawness on that B-side- must agree, calling that a sax solo is generous. I have been trying to find the guitar chords to ‘I found a Dream’ to play a cover. Anyone knowledgeable in that direction?
    Thanks

  2. Rosie is myy number one singer ever!
    she has inspired me to do oldies poems.
    “I hope im as big as her one day”

    ILoveYouRosie!(:

  3. MY 2 LIKES MICHAEL ANGEL & ELAINE MONIQUE LOVES YOUR SONG IT’S THERE FAVORITE I USE TO PLAY IT FOR THEM SINCE THEY WERE BORN & JUST LOVE IT THEY ASK ME TO PLAY IT ALL THE TIME WE LOVE YOU….

  4. I remember playing the reverse side of Rosie’s mumber one song back in 1960, and I realized it was previously recvorded by another band of the era, and they did a much better job on it. But as far as Rosie goes, the first time my best friend Bobby, age 18 then, heard “Angel Baby” he stated “he’d marry this girl, sight unseen, whether she be black, white, yellow or green…as long as she sang to him daily…today both Bobby and I have her tune in our top “Best Songs Ever Recorded” category. I don’t know how my friends and I missed her being at Heinz Hasll in Pittsburgh, for we live about 20 minutes outside Pittsburgh…The group did not make enough songs for sure….BobbyDoo-Wop June 21, 2011

  5. Pingback: One Hit Wonders / 1961 | Russ & Gary's "The Best Years of Music"

Leave a Reply

