Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash

(February 26, 1932–September 12, 2003)

In the mid to late 1950s, I was all about Rock and Roll, but this Country singer also recorded for Sam Phillips at SUN Records and I must admit I did, and still do, enjoy his music.

It took a lot for Johnny to convince Sam Phillips to sign him, but he eventually did win him over in 1955.  So with Luther Perkins, guitar, and Marshall Grant on bass (the Tennessee Two) his illustrious and sometimes turbulent career got it’s start.

The first thing out of the gate from Sun, was Cry, Cry, Cry which was a moderate hit on the Country Hit Parade.



The next songs are the first ones I remember; in 1956 he recorded “I walk the Line” which went to #1 on the Country charts, but made it to # 20 on the Pop Charts; the big door had opened.

He followed that up with “Ballad of a Teenage Queen” in late 1956…

and then “I guess things happen that way” in early 1958.

His career then went to a more Country style.  In the mid to Late 1960’s he would enter the Pop Charts again with Ring of Fire, Folsom Prison Blues and A Boy named Sue to name a few, the bigger hits.  But I am only dealing here with my first encounter of listening to John R Cash when  he was with SUN.

– Gary

In the mid to late fifties, I was all about Rock and Roll, but this Country Singer also recorded for Sam Phillips at Sun and I must admit I did and still do enjoy his music.  It took a lot for John to convince Sam Phillips to sign him, but he eventually did win him over in 1955.  So with Luther Perkins, guitar and Marshall Grant, Bassist (the Tennessee Two) this illustrious and sometimes turbulent career got it’s start.  The first thing out of the gate from Sun, was Cry, Cry, Cry which was a moderate hit on the Country Hit Parade.  The next songs are the first one’s I remember, in 1956 he recorded “I walk the Line” which was No 1 on the country charts, but of notice made it to # 20 on the Pop Charts, the door had opened.  He followed that up with “Ballad of a Teenage Queen” in late 56 and then “I guess things happen that way” w early 58.  His career then went to a more country style.  In the mid to Late 60’s he would enter the Pop Charts again with Ring of Fire, Folsom Prison Blues and A Boy named Sue to name a few, the bigger hits.  But I am only going to deal with my first encounter of listening to John R Cash,  just the time he was with Sun.
Leave a Reply

