Ohio Express

More Bubble Gum music…

The Ohio Express

There where so many musicians coming and going with this group.   I have no idea who the “Ohio Express” really were.

For example: I think they started as “Rare Breed”. Later, the name “Sir Timothy and the Royals” (from Ohio) replaced them, and then just a lot of musicians employed by Super K.  Again, Bubblegum, company and producer-controlled.

Technically, they where not a one-hit wonder, although I think these gentlemen from Ohio could only be heard on a few tracks.

Here are the songs: Beg,Borrow,Steal # 29, Yummy Yummy Yummy # 4, Down at Lulu’s # 33, and Chewy Chewy # 15.

Ohio Express – Beg, Borrow And Steal

Ohio Express – Yummy Yummy Yummy

Ohio Express – Chewy Chewy

The listings I give you are Hot Billboard 100.  For Example:  Yummy, Yummy, Yummy was # 1 and Chewy, Chewy # 2 in Canada.

Ohio Express – Down At Lulu’s (1968)

I own 2 Ohio Express Albums and with the knowledge that I have today, I have no idea who really recorded any of it.

Here is some relevant reference material:


Now in the midst of all this there was a phenomenon called “The Monkees” and I think the Neil Diamond song “I’m a Believer” has sold 10 million copies to date, yes Bubblegum.

We may look down our nose at it’s credibility as a music form, but someone had to buy these recordings and I was one.

– Gary

Leave a Reply

