Bird Names! – Gary

The Early groups where all about Bird Names, who knows why: The Orioles, The Ravens, The Flamingos, The Wrens, The Robins, The Crows and so on.

Check out these great links:
http://www.mlccruises.com/robins.php
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smokey_Joe’s_Cafe

I would like to see the musical “Smokey Joe’s Cafe” – the music of Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller.  I missed it the first time around, but who knows, they may bring it back.  It is still playing somewhere, I will definitely go and see it if it comes back again.

– Gary

One response to “Bird Names! – Gary

  1. Gary, my favorite of the do-woppers were the Silhouettes, mainly for “Get a Job” – one of the great early R&B songs and a masterful vocal performance. The back-up singing conjurs up the best of the South African musical tradition. I heard the tune in a supermarket awhile back and stopped me in my tracks. I almost cried. It was a huge hit when I was in grade school. I heard that the last Silhouette passed away recently. Here’s a video of the tune: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hkJL6wRBE8

Leave a Reply

