Elvis!

Please see revised post: Elvis Presley!

I have been thinking about just how to approach this person and subject.  I certainly would never be presumptuous enough to think that I could possibly add anything to the Ten’s of Thousands of Pages that have been written about…

Elvis (Aron) Presley

I have decided to share the experience of a Teenager in 1955/56 when it all exploded.  I was never really a fan of the movies, or of the ’70’s Huge concert Elvis.  I will admit I enjoyed the 1968 comeback special, but it was the “Dangerous” Elvis that I grew up with.

My mother and father really enjoyed him, but society as whole feared what was happening and what was about to transpire.  Would he have been as popular if he had stayed at Sun, I do not know, but I enjoyed the Blues orientated Sun recordings much more than the Pop recordings that RCA presented.  But you know all of that is just looking back and it is always 20/20 vision, so who really knows.

Here is the Elvis I grew up with and enjoyed. This is looking through the eyes of a 15 year boy… Me!


Elvis (Aron) Presley, born 1935 Died 1977 and is the undisputed King of Rock and Roll.



Studio Sessions for Sun Records:

July 1954

That’s All Right/ Sun 209

Blue Moon of Kentucky/ Sun 209

Blue Moon/ LPM 1254

September 1954

Just Because/  LPM 1254

I don’t care if the Sun don’t Shine/  Sun 210

Good Rockin’ Tonight/  Sun 210

Musicians:

Guitar/ Elvis Presley
Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Bass/ Bill Black

November/December 1954

Milk Cow Blues Boogie/ Sun215

You’re a Heartbreaker/ Sun 215


Musicians:

Guitar/ Elvis Presley
Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Bass/ Bill Black


February 1955

Baby Let’s Play House/ Sun 217 (my favourite)

Trying to Get to you/

Musicians:

Guitar/ Elvis Presley
Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Bass/ Bill Black

March 1955

I’m Left, your right, she’s Gone/ Sun 217


Musicians:

Guitar/ Elvis Presley
Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ Jimmie Lott

July 1955

I forgot to remember to Forget/ Sun 223

Mystery Train/ Sun 223

Trying to get to You/ LPM 1254


Musicians:

Guitar/ Elvis Presley
Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ Johnny Bernero


Studio Sessions for RCA:

January 10, 11, 1956 Nashville

I Got a Woman/ LPM 1254

Heartbreak Hotel/ 47-6420

Money Honey/ LPM 1254

I was the One/ 47-6420


Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Guitar/ Chet Atkins
Guitar/ Elvis Presley
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Floyd Cramer
Vocals/ Gordon Stoker, Ben and Brock Speer
The master of Money Honey is a splice of takes 5 & 6.

January 30,31, February 3, 1956

Blue Suede Shoes/ LPM 1254

My Baby Left Me/ 47-6540

So Glad Your Mine/ LPM 1382

Tutti Frutti/ LPM 1254

Lawdy Miss Clawdy/ 47-6642

Shake Rattle and Roll/ 47-6642

Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Guitar/ Elvis Presley
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Shorty Long
The backing vocals on “Shake Rattle and Roll” were overdubbed after the actual recording.



RCA Studio Sessions:

RCA New York July 2, 1956

Hound Dog/ 47-6604

Don’t be Cruel/ 47-6604

Any Way you Want Me/ 47-6643


Musicians:

Guitar: Elvis & Scotty Moore
Bass: Bill Black
Drums: D.J. Fontana
Piano: Shorty Long
Vocals: The Jordanaires
Piano: Gordon Stoker claimed he played piano on Hound Dog as Shorty was not present.


The Soundtrack for his First Movie “Love me Tender” was laid down in Hollywood Stage 1, September and October of 56


Love me Tender /47-6643


Radio Recorders Hollywood September 1-3, 1956

Love Me/ LPM 1382

Paralyzed/ LPM 1382

When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again/ LPM 1382

Long Tall Sally/ LPM 1382

Old Shep/ LPM 1382

Too Much/ 47-6800

Ready Teddy/ LPM 1382

Rip it Up/ LPM 1382

Musicians:

Guitar: Scotty Moor
Guitar and Piano: Elvis
Bass: Bill Black
Drums D. J. Fontana
Piano: Gordon Stoker
Vocals: The Jordanaires


Studio Sessions, Hollywood Recorders:

January 12 – 13, 1957

1.   I Believe/ EPA 4054

2.   Tell Me Why/

3.   Got A Lot O’ Livin’ To Do/ LPM 1515

4.   All Shook Up/ 47-6870

5.   Mean Woman Blues/ LPM 1515

6.   (There’ll Be) Peace In The Valley/ EPA 4054

7.   I Beg Of You/

8.   That’s When Your Heartaches Begin/ 48-6870

9.   Take My Hand, Precious Lord

Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore/ Elvis
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Gordon Stoker
Vocals/ The Jordanaires

January 24, 1957

1.   (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear/ 47-7000

2.   One Night Of Sin/


Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore/ Elvis
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Dudley Brooks
Vocals/ The Jordanaires

There where two recording made for Don’t Leave Me Now; I chose the more bluesy version, rather than the movie recording.  That’s why it’s last, in the session that follows, rather than in an earlier session.   I like the piano intro in this one.


Studio Sessions for RCA:

February 23, 24, 1957 Radio Recorders Hollywood.

1.   Don’t leave me Now/ LPM 1515

2.   I Beg of You/ 47-7150

3.   One Night/ 47-7410

4.   Loving You/ 47-7000


Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore/ Elvis
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Dudley Brooks
Vocals/ The Jordanaires

April 30, 1957 Radio Recorders Hollywood

Jailhouse Rock Soundtrack


1.   Jailhouse Rock/ 47-7035

2.   (You’re so Square) Baby I don’t Care/ EPA 4114


Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore/ Elvis
Bass/ Bill Black (except Elvis on # 2)
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Dudley Brooks/ Mike Stoller
Vocals/ The Jordanaires


Elvis, as you can see is doing most of his recording in Hollywood, he will be going in the Army and a lot of the music is being canned for later release.


Radio Recorders/ Hollywood/ September 5 – 7 1957

1. Treat me Nice/ 47-7035

2. Blue Christmas/ LOC 1035

3. Don’t/ 47-7150

And a host of other songs.


Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore/ Elvis
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Dudley Brooks
Vocals/ Millie Kirkham/ The Jordanaires


Hollywood Recorders/ January 15, 16 and 23 1958

1. Hard Headed Woman/ 47-7280

2. Trouble/ PPM 7884

3. King Creole

4. As long As I Have you/ LPM 1884

All of the Music for the Movie King Creole


Musicians:

Guitar/ Scotty Moore
Bass/ Bill Black
Bass & Tuba/ Ray Siegel
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Drums/ Bernie Mattinson
Bongos/ Gordon Stoker
Cymbals/ Hoyt Hawkins
Piano/ Dudley Brooks
Clarinet/ Mahlon Clark
Trumpet/ John Ed Buckner
Saxophone/ Justin Gordon
Trombone/ Elmer Schneider & Warren D. Smith
Vocals/ Kitty White & the Jordanaires

Note that the last recordings in Nashville go back to his Rock and Roll Days.  They are in my opinion the best and almost get back to the Sun Record Days, but not quite; but they do rock a lot more than the Movie Stuff!  (the picture looks like Toronto’s  Maple Leaf Gardens)



Studio Sessions/ Radio Recorders/ Hollywood/ February 1, 1958


1.   Wear my Ring around your Neck/ 47-7240


Musicians:

Guitars/ Scotty Moore/ Tiny Timbrell/ Elvis
Bass/ Bill Black
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Dudley Brooks
Vocals/ The Jordanaires


Studio Sessions/ RCA Nashville

June 10 – 11, 1958

1.   I need your Love Tonight/ 47-7506

2.   A Big Hunk of Love/ 47-7600

3.   Ain’t that Lovin’ you Baby

4.   (Now and then There’s) A Fool such as I/ 47-7506

5.   I Got Stung/ 47-7410


Musicians:

Guitars/ Hank Garland/ Chet Atkins/ Elvis
Bass/ Bob Moore
Drums/ D. J. Fontana
Piano/ Floyd Cramer
Bongos/ Buddy Harman
Vocals/ The Jordanaires


My Elvis days really are the ones that I have put in this Blog.  He had a very successful career and an unfortunate death.  I remember only the “Young and Exciting Elvis”, from 1954 to 1958.  I am sure that many will disagree, but the person I have depicted on the Blog is the Elvis I remember and relate too.


Thanks for visiting our site and any comments are welcome!
-Gary

–o–


Leave a Reply

