Surf Rock!


I will take a small look at this phenomenon with out getting the Beach Boys involved.  It really started around late 59, in California and lasted until about 65.

Most of my friends, the Blues people, did not acknowledge it, they would not listen to that “Surfin’ Crap”.  Well I disagreed.  While I did not like it all, I bought a lot of Surfin’ records.  Now to me, and me only, there are two instrumentals, that totally depict what it was all about.  So I will start this segment with two instrumentals.


The Surfaris


Wipe Out – The Surfaris 1963


The Ventures

The Ventures

Wipe Out – The Ventures


Dick Dale (King of the Surfin’ Guitar)
and his Del-Tones

Dick Dale

Lets Go Trippin’ – Dick Dale 1961


–o–
One response to “Surf Rock!

  1. Pingback: One Hit Wonders / 1963 | Russ & Gary's "The Best Years of Music"

Leave a Reply

