The Mar-Keys

This group started playing together in 1958 in Memphis as a four piece group.  In 1961 they recorded a song called Last Night that reached #3 on Billboard on the Satellite label...

The Mar-Keys

  • Steve Cropper – guitar
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn – bass
  • Charles “Packy” Axton – tenor sax
  • Don Nix – saxophone
  • James Terry Johnson – piano, drums
  • Wayne Jackson – trombone, trumpet
  • Jerry Lee “Smoochie” Smith – keyboards
  • Booker T. Jones – keyboards
  • Isaac Hayes – organ
  • Al Jackson, Jr. – drums

1.   Last Night/ Satellite 107/ 7/17/61/ #3 Billboard

In early 1962…

Booker T. Jones persuaded  Steve Cropper, Donal “Duck” Dunn and Al Jackson to leave The Mar-Keys, not the Satellite label, and they  became “Booker T. & the MG’s” (MG = Memphis Group).

They established the Memphis Sound and their first song, written by Booker and Al was called “Green Onions” and they went on to national stardom.



One response to “The Mar-Keys

  1. Pingback: One Hit Wonders / 1961 | Russ & Gary's "The Best Years of Music"

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.