Looking at Rock ‘n’ Roll through fresh young eyes

From the mailbag…

I have a young email friend, Adrian Roberto, who is only 25, so there is 46 years age difference between us. Adrian loves the music and the era that I grew up in.  So the following is what transpired over two emails.

From Gary to Adrian:
It’s time to start your education.  To do this I will have to take you back over 55 years to 706 Union Ave Memphis Tennessee, Sam Phillips was there, Elvis, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis, Billey Lee Riley and Sonny Burgess.  Now I love Sonny Burgess and the Fabulous Pacers (who will be in Montreal in September and he is 80 years old).  He is a real throw back to what Rock and Roll was and the excitement it produced.  Watch both videos (they are recent) and you will see what Arkansas Rock and Roll is all about.  Now Sonny never made it big, too bad, he is very talented, writes and is a great musician.  Enjoy this video: https://strathdee.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/early-sun-the-transition-gary/
-Gary
To Gary from Adrian:
Gary,
Thank you so much for both the Four Tops and Sonny Burgess songs — they have been all that I have been listening too since Tuesday. I was immediately hooked on Burgess and wonder why he wasn’t as big as the likes of Elvis, Perkins, Jerry Lee etc. — he’s got a great rockin’ sound!
Also, thank you for bringing The Early Days video to my attention as well! I’ve already watched it twice. For me, it gave me a real understanding of how rock ‘n’ roll came about into the forefront of the social conscience or rather the white middle class conscience because for many the “rocking” sound was not new, like Fats Domino says in the film, he been playing that sound many years prior to Ain’t That A Shame.
I had always wondered what life looked and sounded like before rock’n’roll and this video helped with that. It must’ve been amazing being a teen in the 50s. I’ve always admired that era (and 60s). I’ve never experienced turning on to a popular radio station among my age group and the current songs out be also what I am into or going downtown dancing and there being a live band playing.
That just wasn’t the realty of my time as a teen or now in my 20s. And its a real shame. I remember getting teased in school when I was 14 because for our speeches projects, I did my speech on Charles Hardin Holley and that wasn’t cool when I was 14. I remember just feeling confused and frustrated because to me, the current heavy metal or rap garbage on the radio was dull, but wearing black-frame glasses and blasting That’ll Be The Day on my CD player was exciting — it was cool. I just wished I didn’t feel like the only 14 year old who thought so at the time! Ha
Thanks again Gary
One response to “Looking at Rock ‘n’ Roll through fresh young eyes

  1. Great, great, great…

Leave a Reply

