Looking Back! 1966

Gary: “What a year of ‘Change’ this would be for me! I would change jobs (still sales), joining Barshaw Office Systems from Montreal. They represented the giant German chemical company BASF, who invented magnetic media, which would be my immediate future, being computer tapes and what we called disk packs.

I would say good-bye to the “what-if” girl I was romantically involved with from West Virginia (Nancy) early in the year and I would meet a new girl in the spring (Charlene).

Gary and Charlene

I would get engaged (again) to Charlene and we would get married the following year.

Looking Back
Toronto
1966

My car purchasing had slowed down (but it would accelerate again over the next 4 years: 1967 Chev Impala; 1968 Olds Cutlass Supreme 350 4-barrel; and 1970 Pontiac Lemans Sport Big Block 400 with a 4 barrel).

I would actually get engaged (at 27), get married and get very career minded. This marriage would not last forever, but if you look back at my record (20 years, 3 girls and 6 grandchildren) that’s pretty good; sad, but pretty good.

Gary and Charlene at Toronto’s Club Kingsway

My new job, representing BASF would take me into bigger and better things. I moved up the ladder for customers, management wise, and the numbers expected would rise, but as all sales people will attest to, if you work hard and sell a lot you can make a really decent living – but it is not for the faint of heart and there are compromises (my marriage).

What do I remember about 1966?

– not a lot; I was too involved with women, but here goes…

Frank Sinatra marries Mia Farrow, really

Frank Sinatra, Mia Farrow

Fashion Model “Twiggy” popularizes the miniskirt, YES!
.
H Bomb Lost and found –
An H-Bomb was lost in the Mediterranean after a B-52 bomber had made impact with a KC-135 jet. Two other bombs were dropped near Palomores, a small town in Spain. The hydrogen bomb that had fallen from a B-52 bomber when it collided with a KC-135 refueling jet over the Mediterranean Sea was located by a U.S. midget submarine off the coast of Spain, it is recovered from the sea floor in April of the same year from a depth of 2,500 feet.
.
Canda Introduces the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), which gives you a Pension at age 65, which is 25% of the last five years of contributing.
.
For the first time, warnings appear on cigarette packages
.
My favourite TV Show, “Shindig” is no more and then later Hullabaloo is also cancelled.

Sports:

NFL: Green Bay beats Dallas 34-27
AFL: Kansas City beats Buffalo 31-7
Super Bowl 1: Green Bay Beats Kansas City 35-10
Baltimore wins World Series over LA
NHL: Montreal beats Detroit, wins Stanley Cup

On the big screen in 1966:

Best Actor: Paul Scofield / A Man for All Seasons
.
Best Actress: Elizabeth Taylor / Who’s afraid of Virginia Woolf
.
Best Picture: A Man for all Seasons

Movies that I enjoyed in 1966:

Georgy Girl /

Lynn Redgrave, Alan Bates

.
Born Free
.
The Sand Pebbles (loved this one)
.
The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming
.
Fantastic Voyage

New on the small Screen:

.
Batman
/
Family Affair
.
Hollywood Squares
.
Mission Impossible
.
The Monkees
Unfortunately we lost Davy Jones February 29, 2012!
.
Star Trek
.

The Cars I liked in 1966:

Dodge Charger
.
The race was on “Muscle Cars” ruled. Chrysler under rated it’s 426 Hemi cid with two huge 4 barrel carbs, to only 425 bhp, not even close.
.
Mustang got involved with Carrol Shelby and the GT-350 is born, the 289 cranked 306 bhp in a small car
.
Corvette Stingray got a 427 cid option
.
Oldsmobile 4-4-2 (they used my favourite engine 400 cid with 3 duals 360bhp (underrated)
.
Pontiac GTO
.
Pontiac Bonneville
.
But if you did not have a lot of money, this is what you bought and you could shut anyone down.
.
Plymount Belvedere with a 426 option

.

Music for 1966:

Not a bad year, the tape cartridge or cassette invented in 1954 is brought to market commercially.
.
But, we would loose, under a lot of suspicion (to this day) and controversy Bobby Fuller (I still believe he was murdered and so do a lot of other people).

.

Now the music I enjoyed in 66.

I will try and stay away from the obvious big groups:
.
Lou Christie / Lightnin’ Strikes
.
Nancy Sinatra / These Boots are made for Walkin’
.
Slim Harpo / Baby Scratch my back
.
Bobby Fuller Four / I Fought the Law
.
The Lovin’ Spoonful / Daydream / Summer in the City / Nashville Cats
.
Wayne Fontana & the Mindbenders / The Game of Love
.
Mamas & Papas / California Dreamin’ / Monday, Monday
.
Bobby Hebb / Sunny
.
The Troggs / Wild Thing
.
Wilson Pickett / Land of a Thousand Dances / Mustang Sally
Yes that was Jimi Hendrix
.
The Association / Along Comes Mary / Cherish
.
The Cyrkle / Red Rubber Ball
.
The Shadows of Knight / Gloria
.
Percy Sledge / When a man loves a Woman
.
Robert Parker / Barefootin’
.
Sam & Dave / Hold on I’m Comin’
.
Tommy James & the Shondells / Hanky Panky
.
The Temptations / Ain’t to proud to Beg
.
The Monkees / Last Train to Clarksville / I’m a Believer (written by Neil Diamond)
.
Neil Diamond / Cherry Cherry
.
The New Vaudeville Band / Winchester Cathedral (my dad loved this song)
.
Mitch Ryder & the Detroit Wheels / Devil with the blue Dress
.
Question Mark (?) & the Mysterians / 96 Tears
.
Paul Revere & the Raiders / Kicks
.
The Outsiders / Time won’t Let me
.
The Swingin’ Medallions / Double Shot (of my baby’s love)
.
Carla Thomas / B-A-B-Y
.
Otis Redding / Satisfaction (the best version)
.
Spencer Davis Group / Gimme Some Lovin’
.
The Youngbloods / Grizzly Bear
.
The Count Five / Psychotic Reaction
.
The Sopwith “Camel” / Hello Hello
.
Crispian St. Peters / The Pied Piper
.
Billy Stewart / Summertime

–o–

4 responses to “Looking Back! 1966

  1. Happy Birthday to Fats Domino, 84 this first day of March!
    Also Harry Belafonte, (not sure, but think 89)!

    And a happy birthday to Fats Domino on his 84th! Wishing a wonderful Picses Birthday……still livin’ in New Orleans , he don’t gotta walk there.
    Can’t relate to ’60’s tv, we didn’t have one! So loved my radio tunes even more…….
    Thanks again Gary …….and always my friend, Russ.

    • Hi Laila Great comment. – Russ

    • Laila: Fats Domino was 84 on February 26th. You are correct regarding Harry, he turned 85 on March 1st. I do not know whether Fats replaced or repaired his home in New Orleans, his last known performance was 2009, I do not think he performs anymore. I believe Harry still lives in New York. So I guess you and Russ were similar in that neither of you owned a TV in the Sixties, too bad you missed a lot. Musically you missed the creation of the Monkees, Shindig, Hullabaloo, Hootenanny, Hollywood Palace and so on. The thing that was unique about those programs is, they were all live and then of course there was American Bandstand. Did you at least see American Bandstand when it started in 1957?
      Gary (from Texas)

  2. It is very, very nice to be reminded of all this great music and I’m surprised at how many of the songs you mention that I remermber, how many I even got in my record collection. Sixties music really was great – Ted

Leave a Reply

