Looking Back! 1967

Gary: “This would be a busy year for me.  My career was getting better and I was becoming more successful. I would go to Montreal for Expo 67 and at last “I would get married”. 

The BASF product line was becoming very successful with Barshaw Office Systems.  But next year BASF would go direct, call me, have me fly to Montreal in a whirlwind scenario and would hire me. 

I married Charlene…

Gary’s Wedding

and we, as a married couple, would go to Canada’s Expo 67 in Montreal.

Charlene and Gary in their first apartment

I still had the same car…

…but would have 3 different ones in the next four years. 

What I remember about 1967:

Three Astronauts are tragically killed on the launch pad as a fire consumed  the Apollo I spacecraft 
.
Montreal’s Expo 67 Opens 
.

The Six Day War gives victory to Israel

French-made fighters of the IAF

.
French President Charles de Gaulle opens his big mouth and tells the people in Quebec that he will liberate them, so then it starts and it still goes on today.  Thanks Charles you idiot!
.

Dr. Christiaan Barnard does the first Heart Transplant

Bernard Lewis Washkansky – recipient of the world’s first human heart transplant

.

First Microwave Oven is available for consumers 

Amana RadarRange – 1967

Sports:

NFL:  Green Bay Beats Dallas 21-17
AFL:  Oakland beats Huston 40-7
Super Bowl 2  Green Bay beats Oakland 33-14
St. Louis Cardinals are World Series Champs over Boston
The  Toronto Maple Leafs beat the Montreal Canadiens & win the Stanley Cup (and they have not won it since)

On the Silver Screen:

.
Best Actor / Rod Steiger / In the Heat of the Night 
.
Best Actress / Katherine Hepburn / Guess who’s coming for dinner 
.
Best Picture (I own a DVD of this one) In the Heat of the Night 

.

Other Movies I enjoyed

.
Bonnie & Clyde 
.
The Graduate 
.
Cool Hand Luke (Favourite) 
.
In Cold Blood 
.
The Dirty Dozen
.
Guess Who’s Coming for Dinner 
.

New on TV:

The Carol Burnett Show 
.
The Flying Nun 
.
Ironsides 
.
Mannix 
.
Smothers Brothers 

The Cars I liked in 1967:

.
“New” Plymouth Barracuda 
.
Mustang GT 
.
Mercury Cougar 
.
Buick Skylark GS 340
.
Chevelle SS 396 
.
Pontiac Firebird (new) 
.
GTO 
.

Music I enjoyed in 1967:

.
Sonny & Cher / The Beat goes On 
.
The Spencer Davis Group / Gimme Some Lovin’ / I’m a Man 
.
Marvin Gaye & Kim Weston / It takes Two 
.
The Turtles / Happy Together 
.
The Mamas & Papas / Dedicated to the One I Love / Creeque Alley 
.
Tommy James & the Shondells / I Think We’re Alone Now 
.
Arthur Conley / Sweet Soul Music 
.
The Five Americans / Western Union 
.
Aretha Franklin / I never loved a man (the way I love You / Think / Chain of Fools 
.
Jefferson Airplane / White Rabbit / Somebody to Love 
.
Bee Gees / New York Mining Disaster 1941 / To Love Somebody / Massachusetts / Holiday
.
The Association / Never My Love / Windy 
.
Jerry Jaye / My Girl Josephine 
.
The Doors / Light My Fire / Love Me Two Times 
.
The Music Explosion / Little Bit O’ Soul 
.
The Soul Survivors / Expressway to Your Heart 
.
Sam & Dave / Soul Man 
.
Gladys Knight & the Pips / I Heard it through the Grapevine 
.
The Monkees / Daydream Believer  
.
The American Breed / Bend Me Shape
Me
Image result for the american breed
.
The Lemon Pipers / Green Tambourine 
Image result for The Lemon pipers
.
John Fred & his Playboy Band / Judy in Disguise 
.
The Human Beinz / Nobody but Me 
.
The Box Tops / The Letter 
.
The Bar-Kays / Soul Finger 
.
Bobbie Gentry / Ode to Billie Joe 
.
Paul Revere & the Raiders / Good Thing / Him or Me (What’s it gonna Be)
.
Neil Diamond / Girl, You’ll be a woman Soon / Kentucky Woman 
.
The Young Rascals / Groovin’ 
Wilson Pickett / Funky Broadway / Everybody Needs Somebody to Love 

–o–

3 responses to “Looking Back! 1967

  1. I don’t really know for sure but I think Charles de Gaulle was setting up the people of Quebec for the Party Quebecois, Bloc Quebecois and their politics. The Quebecois would have to be pretty naive to believe that our neighbours to the south would have their support if the border would be subject to change if in that a new nation would be created. NOT! It wouldn’t be allowed to happen then and it would not be allowed to happen today. As for the Leafs winning another Stanley Cup … C’mon leafs! In my lifetime!

  2. That is NOT a picture of the LemonPipers

Leave a Reply

