Novelty Tunes

Gary: Novelty Songs or Tunes –  I know, not “real” music, sometimes just strange little songs that make the Hit Parade.  Well, I agree, but I look back over the 1950’s and 1960’s and these particular songs I either purchased or they had some sort of impact on me. 

I know a lot of people will disagree and some will say that I did not include a lot of them and you are probably correct. But I write the blog and these are the ones that impacted me, just remember they are only novelty songs and had no bearing on the evolution of Rock and Roll.
Novelty Songs of the 50’s and 60’s
notesLine1950:  I would be 10, but my Dad played this song and I learned the words and sang it too: / Phil Harris
.
notesLine1952 / John Standley
.
notesLine1953 /Red Buttons
.
notesLine1956 / seemed to be a big year or I guess I was 16 / Nervous Norvus (Jim Drake)
.
notesLine Buchanan and Goodman (they got sued by everyone)
.
notesLine The Cadets
.
notesLineThen Came 1958, you think I would know better I was 18, well obviously I did not. / Sheb Wooley
notesLine David Seville
.
notesLine The Chipmunks or David Seville
.
notesLineLast for 1958, I hated this song but my wife loves it / The Playmates
 
.
notesLineWell let’s look at 1959, I should not be listening to these anymore, correct, no so…
/ Ed Byrnes and Connie Stevens
.
notesLine Jessie Lee Turner
.
notesLine The first time I heard “Chubby Checker”
.
notesLine Paul Evans
.
notesLine1960: / The Hollywood Argyles  (a studio group)
notesLine Brian Hyland
.
notesLine1961
Lonnie Donegan
.
notesLine Buzz Clifford (I actually bought this record and met him)
.notesLine1962 / Bobby (Boris) Pickett
.
notesLine Pat Boone
.
notesLine1962
Alan Sherman
.
notesLine The Ran-Dells
.
notesLine1967 / The Royal Guardsmen
.
–o–
15 responses to “Novelty Tunes

  1. I remember the Alan Sherman record well. Don’t forget Tom Lehr who had some hit novelty tunes in the US in that same period, including “Vatican Rag” — tho I liked Sherman’s stuff better. “The Name Game” by Shirley Ellis was a kind of novelty song too, with a good beat. And the tunes about specific kinds of dances (“The Stroll,” “Do the Locomotion,” etc.) might be considered novelty songs too. Actually that might be a separate category for you to write about!

    A fun romp down memory lane.

  2. Hey, just remembered that Lonnie Donegan’s brand of skiffle was an influence on John Lennon’s Quarrymen — the predecessor to The Beatles. According to Wikipedia there were 30,000 to 50,000 skiffle bands in Britain in the late 50s!!

  3. Good morning Gary A notable omission is Bill Parsons “All American Boy” Best wishes Tony

    Sent from my iPad

  4. What about Sheb Wooley and the “Flying Purple People Eater?

  5. Didn’t Lonnie Dunnigan do a song called “The Rock Island Line”

  6. Sorry about that! I just reviewed the list again and guess who showed up? Yep! Sheb Wooley and The Flying Purple People Eater, son of a gun…

  7. I’m from BC and there were some I heard that may have got airplay there and not here. How about
    – Super Skier by Bob Gibson: You need to be a skier to laugh at this one.
    – The Driving Instructor by Bob Newhart: Well, it’s not a song but it got a lot of airplay and made the C-FUN hit parade.
    – Alice’s Restaurant by Arlo Guthrie: Way too long for radio but all the folkies loved it.
    – The Ballad of Irving by Frank Gallop: Hard to find in a youtube search. Enjoy. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CD8EtvWW8nw
    – Anything by Ray Stevens or Homer and Jethro.

Leave a Reply

