Desert Island Discs

Desert1 Gary: I have an email friend, Tony,  in the United Kingdom, who I got to know from writing this blog.  During one of our lengthy discussions he informed me of a radio show they have in England, called “Desert Island Discs”. 

desert5

This implies: “What 10 records or disc’s would you take to a Desert Island?”  Well it’s not as easy as you might think, but Tony challenged me and I complied. Now that started me thinking, why could I not apply this to our blog?  I contacted Russ, he wasn’t sure,  but I pursued it further.  So, I sent out an email message to all of our email followers (blog Subscribers) asking them for the “Desert Island” information;  Name / Location / Age (if willing) / 10 record Titles or disc’s in this manner, Song / Artist / Year. Well some of our Subscribers responded to my email and we have included the results in this post. Now, the challenge is for everyone who visit’s our blog, we want YOUR input.  So please fill out the form below and let’s see just how many different songs will be mentioned. Russ and I are on the same page and we challenge our internet visitors. What would be your picks? Just fill in the form below and we can include your selections.

What 10 records or discs would you take to a Desert Island? 

Desert2
 .
 For each of the 10 items, please include:
Title, Recording Artist, Year of release (if you can), plus any other information you wish to provide.
.

your 10 picks:

.


notesLineHere are some results so far…
notesLineTony / Cambridge, UK / 71

  1. The Fat Man.   Fats Domino  1949
  2. Think It Over.  Buddy Holly     1958
  3. Down In Virginia.   Jimmy Reed  1958
  4. Ain’t That a Shame   Fats Domino 1955
  5. River Deep Mountain High. I &T Turner  1966
  6. High Blood Pressure. Huey Smith  1957
  7. Mississippi.  Dylan  2001
  8. Road Runner. Bo Diddley    1959
  9. Long Tall Sally  Little Richard 1956
  10. Whole Lotta Shakin  JLL  1957
notesLineRW/69 years old/Toronto, Ontario
1.       Won’t You Wear my Ring Around Your Neck – Elvis Presley – first record I ever bought
2.       A Little Bit of Soap – The Jarmels
3.       Bristol Stomp – The Dovells – favourite dance song from high school  #1
4.       Cool Jerk – The Capitols – favourite dance song from high school #2
5.       Stay – Maurice Williams & the Zodiacs – favourite dance song from high school #3
6.       Into the Mystic – Jackson Hawke – prefer this version to Van Morrison’s
7.       If I Can Dream  – Elvis Presley – in a great white suit on his TV special
8.       You’ll Never Walk Alone – Gordon MacRae – Carousel
9.       Runaround Sue – Dion & the Belmonts – favourite dance song from high school #4 – great for doing the ‘Pony’.
10.   Who Knows How to Make Love Stay – Doug & The Slugs
11.   Smile – Judy Garland
12.   A-B-C  – Jackson 5 – gets any wedding reception hopping
 Hope this helps,

notesLineDennis / 66 / Bexleyheath / Kent / UK An early morning diversion and it stirred plenty of memories. I knew I couldn’t fit them all in and I’m really happy to be still finding great stuff to play after 4 years on the radio. (www.cruisingwiththecommissioner.wordpress.com) But, you put a lot of time and effort into your blog and it is much appreciated here, so when you asked, I couldn’t ignore. Hope the following helps in some way . . . .

1 You Can’t Sit Down (Parts 1 & 2) – The Phil Upchurch Combo (Sue) This was a 1961 million seller for guitarist and band leader, Phil Upchurch. It has a really powerful opening and never loses its grip throughout. A classic that I never tire of hearing.

2. Tutti Frutti – Little Richard (Specialty) A 1957 recording made in Cosimo Matassa’s New Orleans J&M studios with some many of NOLA’s top musicians. No-one ever caught that same energy and spirit (imho) and remember the thrill of buying his first album and then seeing him live on stage.

3. Reet Petite – Jackie Wilson (Brunswick) This was Jackie Wilson’s first solo hit after leaving The Dominos. The song was co-written by Berry Gordy and its chart success in 1957 launched Jackie’s career and enabled Gordy to start his Motown operation. Infectious and fun.

4. All Along The Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix (Track) 1968. I may not be the greatest Jimi fan, but this is a master piece of playing and production (imho). I love some of his more lyrical numbers (Like The Wind Cries Mary), but this is always my first choice.

5. Tore Down – Freddie King (Shelter) This is his 1971 re-recording of this song made at Chess studios and accompanied by notables like Leon Russell, Duck Dunn and others. A great bluesman producing a powerhouse version that never fails to move me. (Had the pleasure of touring the UK with Freddie in late 60s. Great fun!)

6. Seven Days Is Too Long – Chuck Wood (Mojo) This was always a sure fire floor filler when I was a DJ out on the road. Released in 1967, it was always close to hand and remains close to my heart.

7. Samba Pa Ti – Santana (Columbia) That original 1970 recording is a beautiful piece of playing and production and full marks to Carlos for pressing the rest of the band to record it. I think I know every note and inference now. It’s ‘our tune’ and we danced to it under the stars on our ??? anniversary on a boat drifting gently around a lagoon in Mexico.

8. Light Flight – Pentangle (Transatlantic) This is a little folk/rock that brings a breezy, cheery feel that was first released in 1969 by UK band The Pentangle. The 45 got into the charts, as well as the album ‘Basket Of Light’. For me, it conjures images of happy youngsters laughing, dancing and swinging across golden fields . . . . Ah, the memories!

9. Paying The Cost To Be The Boss – BB King (Bluesway) 1968 and BB was in his prime. This has some great Johnny Pate accompaniment and BB is swinging out with style and sophistication, as well as some memorable licks. Fine stuff indeed.

10. Layla – Eric Clapton (RSO) Here I am at No 10 and no doo-wop, rockabilly, C&W, Elvis, Fats, Beatles, Stones or others (hangs head in despair and considers another entry), but this 70s anthem brings vivid memories of a time and place and people that are special!

Honourable mentions

All About My Girl – Jimmy McGriff (Sue) A storming piece of 1963 organ work that never lets up and always grabs me from the get go. It was a big hit on the UK 60s club scene and helped to build an enthusiastic following for other US artists on the label and beyond. A Mod favourite forever.

Love’s Made A Fool Of You – Buddy Holly (Brunswick) A superb song written in 1954 by Buddy and his one time singing partner, Bob Montgomery (who sadly passed away recently). Recorded in by Buddy in 1958 as a demo for the Everly Brothers and not released until 1962. notesLineJan/56/Aurora Ontario

1-  is that all there is / Peggy Lee
2-  the best of the doors
3-  Pearl / Janis Joplin
4-  loosing my religion / rem
5- unchained melody/ elvis
6- waiting for the miracle ( album)/Leonard Cohen
7- Alyson ( album)/ elvis Costello
8- dear jonus ( album)/ Weezer
9- this day in july (?)/ blue rodeo
10- house of the rising sun/ can’t Remember who sang this besides my dad!
1st breakfast at the  circus/ David Wilcox
Also- anything by supertramp,

notesLineDavid / Uxbridge / Ontario / Canada The list in any order

  1. Tristan and Isolde. The Opera. Richard Wagner 1857
  2. One More Morning. Steve Winwood. 1988
  3. Little Boy Blue. Bobby Bland. 1958
  4. Little Bit of my Heart. Janis Joplin 1968
  5. Chances Are. Johnny Mathis. 1957
  6. Willow Weep For Me. Dave “Fathead” Newman. 1960
  7. Water Music. George Frederick Handel. 1717
  8. Si, Mi Chiamano Mimì , Bohème. Maria Callas.  1956
  9. Free Bird. Lynyrd Skynyrd. 1973
  10. At Last.  Etta James 1960

Honourable mention Traveling Band. CCR. 1970 Bohemian Rhapsody. Queen. 1975

notesLineRuss / Barrie / Ontario / Canada

1. 1955 / Poor Me / Fats Domino

2. 1955 / Mystery Train / Elvis

3. 1956 / I Want You I Need You I Love You / Elvis

4. 1959 / Baby What You Want Me To Do {Got Me Peepin’) / Jimmy Reed

5. 1959 / Linda Lu / Ray Sharpe

6. 1954 / Come Back Baby / Ray Charles

7. 1956 / Please Please Please / James Brown & The Fabulous Flames

8. 1955 / Big Heavy / Cozy Egglestone / (The Hound’s Theme Song)

9. 1976 / You’ll Never Find / Lou Rawls

10. 1964 / Dancing In The Streets  / Martha & The Vandellas

Honourable Mentions…

1956 / In The Still Of The Night / The Five Satins

1955 / Ling Ting Tong / The Five Keys notesLinePaul / UK

Here’s my current choices will probably change in 5 mins.
Rock  Around The Clock – Bill Haley & Comets
Roll Over Beethoven – Chuck Berry
Mystery Train – Elvis Presley
Slippin’ and Slidin’ – Little Richard
Bo Diddley – Bo Diddley
Jerry Lee Lewis – Whole Lotta’ Shakin’
Be-Bop-A-Lula – Gene Vincent & Bluecaps
Susie Q – Dale Hawkins
Ain’t  That A Shame – Fats Domino
Blue Suede Shoes – Carl Perkins
Cheers

notesLine Robin /  age 68 1 Time of your life – Bolland and Bolland 1973

2 I Can Tell – Johnny Kidd and the Pirates 1962
3 She Does It Right – Dr. Feelgood 1976
4 Light My Fire – the Doors 1967
5 Melinda love – the Grassroots 1970
6 I’m a Rocker – the Raspberries 1973
7 Lazy Day – the Moody Blues 1969
8 Invitation – Eath and Fire 1973
9 Mighty Joe – Shocking Blue 1972
10 Mexico – The Les Humphries Singers 1972
From somewhere on a Pirate Radio Station sunk in the Meditteranean
Best wishes
 notesLineLinda / a Boomer/ Wiarton/ Ontario/ Canada
1.       1962- Green Onions by Booker T. and the MG’s
2.       1955- My Babe by Little Walter
3.       1957- Poor Boy by Howlin’ Wolf
4.       1961- Angel Baby by Rosie and The Originals
5.       1986- Lost in the 50’s by Ronnie Milsap
6.       1965- In the Midnight Hour by Wilson Pickett
7.       1962- You Really got a Hold on Me by Smokey Robinson and The Miracles
8.       1963- Bring It On Home to Me by Sam Cooke
9.       1966- I Feel Good by James Brown
10.   1965- Unchained Melody by The Righteous Brothers
Worthy Mentions:
1955- In the Still of the Night by Fred Parris and The Satins
Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me by Mel Carter
1960- All I Have to Do is Dream by The Everly Brothers
1958- For Your Precious Love by Jerry Butler and The Impressions

Rave On by Buddy Holly

notesLineGary / Aurora, Ontario
My Choices will surprise you, I will pick only songs that made an impression on me when I was teenager, so that will leave out a lot of blues.
 1953 / Fats / Please Don’t Leave Me
.
1955 / Fats / All by myself / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmtvwAJKKsU 
.
1958 / Buddy / Well Alright / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKak6tYJJtk
.
1953 / The first Rock and Roll Song that made an impression / I was only 13 / Gee by the Crows / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvmGLV_GE0M
.
1956 / In the Still of the Night/ The Five Satins /https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRb1-SAAIzs  Man, that was grinding music
.
1958 / Ah, yes and the song Dick Clark said was just too slow for American Bandstand, well for the first time Dick was wrong / 1958 Jerry Butler and the Impressions / For Your Precious Love / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SrZ7NfwNBEk
.
1957 / A great little Texas Group, I was 17, loved it / Henrietta Jimmy Dee and the Offbeats / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyj_Ef9UZ3g
Now remember I’m Older than you
In 1955 / Man I loved this song / Earth Angel by the Penguins / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJcGi4-n_Yw
.
In 1959 / The Bell Notes / I’ve Had It / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twmmZjkp2BU
.
1958 / Slipin’ and Slidin’ Buddy Holly Apartment Tapes / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ooG8zmBkJQ8 and the Original by Little Richard and the Upsetters / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cp05_vFt6z8
Honourable Mention –
the first banned record in Canada / 1954 Work with me Annie / Hank Ballard and the Midnighters / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBAwrbc4tok / I remember the first time I heard it, the record was from the US and it’s was banned, great.
They would have to have a big Boat and Island for me, right now I am heavily into original blues like Lightnin’ Slim / 1959 Rooster Blues /

notesLineJim Cates

Most importantly, wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your posts.  Now for my list.

#10  Roy Orbison-Only The Lonely  60

#9 Del Shannon–Runaweay 59

#8 Beach Boys  Dance Dance Dance  64

#7 Voges 5 o’Clock World 65

#6 Ral Donner  Girl Of My Best Friend 61

#5 Passions  Just To Be With You  59

# 4 Videls  Now That Summer Is Here  60

# 3 Tokens  Tonight I Fell in Love 61

#2 –E Humperdinck  After The Lovin 75

#1 Dion  Teenager In Love

59 I’m sure some of your responses have been “unique”. Enjoyed and learned a lot about Johnny & The Hurricanes,  Rockin’ Goose was my exit song for many years when I was on-air. notesLineBeverley / Florida

My list for the deserted island is:
Night-Jackie Wilson Brunswick Label 1960
I, Who have nothing– Ben E King  1960 Atco
Any Cole Porter
Any Gershwin
Any Dian Krall
Dave Brubeck
The Broadway West Side Story-Leonard Bernstein-1957
notesLineDave/Aurora/Ontario/Canada
dion – the wanderer
sam and dave – soul man
mamas and papas – California dreaming
the band – the weight
temptations – my girl
spinners – used to be my girl
marvin gaye – lets get it on
eagles – take it easy
Frankie lymon – why do fools fall in love
earth wind and fire – lets groove tonight

notesLineJohn/71/Quinte/Ontario/Canada

  1. 1958/Rebel ‘Rouser/Duane Eddy/first rock record I purchased. Now I own everything by Duane and producer/writer Lee Hazlewood.
  2. 1962/Crying/Roy Orbison/Incredible! To this day I think this is a great record. Got all his stuff and attend fan gatherings.
  3. 1962/I Can’t Stop Loving You/Ray Charles/Great production I wish was in stereo
  4. 1956/Blueberry Hill, etc./Fats Domino/one of the few acts I never watched in concert
  5. 1960/Cathy’s Clown/Everly Brothers/Great song/Great duo!
  6. 1961/Don’t You Sweetheart Me etc./Bobby Curtola/A Canadian star/The song doesn’t matter, Wow! Can’t count the number of times I’ve seen him live and enjoyed every minute.
  7. 1961/The Lion Sleeps Tonight/Tokens/I wore out the 45, super Hugo and Luigi production
  8. 1957/Honeycomb/Jimmie Rodgers/First time I heard it I knew this was a hit and I wasn’t alone
  9. 1959/Three Bells/The Browns/smooooooooooth
  10. 1966/Good Vibrations/The Beach Boys/classic!

honorable mentions: 1962/The End of the World/Skeeter Davis/Super ballad, delivery and production 1962/You Really Got a Hold On Me/Miracles/this is what music is all about Difficult list to assemble. Ask me tomorrow and my choices will change!

notesLineWally Kemp / 73 / Bradford, ON
Time: February 21, 2015 at 11:16 pm
 #1 Title / Artist / Year – if you know it: Old Time Rock and Roll
#2 Title: Mony Mony
#3 Title: Jailhouse Rock
#4 Title: Spirit In The Sky
#5 Title: The Wanderer
#6 Title: Boot Scootin Boogie
#7 Title: That’ll Be The Day
#8 Title: Great Balls of Fire
#9 Title: Island In The Sun
#10 Title: Mockingbird
Comment: Something of everything and I have not included my favorite two types of music, gospel and bluegrass
notesLineNick Bassel / 78 / London Ontario
Time: February 24, 2015 at 8:25 am
#1 Title / Artist / Year – if you know it: Toccata & Fugue in D Minor – J.S. Bach. (organ)
#2 Title: ‘In the Court of the Crimson King‘ ~1970 album by King Crimson
#3 Title: April in Paris – Count Basie
#4 Title: California Dreaming – Mamas & Papas
#5 Title: Hotel California – Eagles
#6 Title: The House of the Rising Sun – The Animals
#7 Title: Saturday Night Fish Fry – Louis Jordan
#8 Title: Peppermint Twist – Joey Dee & starlighters
#9 Title: Nature Boy – Nat King Cole
#10 Title: It was a very good year – Frank Sinatra
Comment: Each of these selections represents a ‘contact high’ for me; i.e. The powerful capability that music has, to instantly recall people, places, events & experiences from the past.
notesLineDoug Farrow  (Fave) / old / Aurora
Time: February 26, 2015 at 7:31 pm
#1 Title / Artist / Year Dark Side of the Moon by Pink Floyd 1974
#2 Title: any Fats Domlno
#3 Title: Unchained Melody  Righteous Brothers
#4 Title: Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley
#5 Title: Lucille   Little Richard
#6 Title: Big Heavy. can’t  remember artist
#7 Title: Love Me Tender by Elvis Presley
#8 Title: Come Go With Me
#9 Title: In The Still Of The Night.
#10 Title: hallelujah by kd lang
Comment: at this age it’s hard to remember the year and the artist. damn I’m lucky to remember my name or where I put my beer down.

–o–


Name Doug Farrow (Fave)
Location (city / prov / state) Aurora
Age (optional) Old
#1 Title / Artist / Year – if you know it Dark Side of the Moon by Pink Floyd 1974
#2 Title any Fats Domlno
#3 Title Unchained Melody Righteous Brothers
#4 Title Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley
#5 Title Lucille Little Richard
#6 Title Big Heavy. can’t remember artist
#7 Title Love Me Tender by Elvis Presley
#8 Title Come Go With Me
#9 Title In The Still Of The Night.
#10 Title hallelujah by kd lang
6 responses to “Desert Island Discs

  1. Top marks indeed! Certainly, some great tracks and plenty to follow up.

  2. Bluddy marvelous selections, very eclectic but quite entertaining.
    What a great idea this is, Bravo Gary & Russ

  3. I would never take most of these songs as they have been played over and over.

  4. nothing has changed:
    David / Uxbridge / Ontario / Canada The list in any order

    Tristan and Isolde. The Opera. Richard Wagner 1857
    One More Morning. Steve Winwood. 1988
    Little Boy Blue. Bobby Bland. 1958
    Little Bit of my Heart. Janis Joplin 1968
    Chances Are. Johnny Mathis. 1957
    Willow Weep For Me. Dave “Fathead” Newman. 1960
    Water Music. George Frederick Handel. 1717
    Si, Mi Chiamano Mimì , Bohème. Maria Callas. 1956
    Free Bird. Lynyrd Skynyrd. 1973
    At Last. Etta James 1960
    – Honourable mention Traveling Band. CCR. 1970 Bohemian Rhapsody. Queen. 1975

    A bit eclectic but that’s me

  5. HUGH "BABE" O'DONNELL

    I always enjoy a great contest or challenge about music that made our WORLD sing and DANCE which other countries are not allowed to do or participate in there life time. Thanks GARY and RUSS for the LONELY ISLAND contest.

    THE EWMPEROR OF MUSIC AND PARTIES

    HUGH “BABE” O’DONNELL

Leave a Reply

