Tom Jones

By Gary: I will be completely honest, I am not a huge fan of this artist.  I will admit that he has been very successful, with over 100 Million Records Sold.  He has a love of Rhythm and Blues and that’s what I enjoyed, not his pop music.  He is a Welsh Man named Thomas John Woodward or his stage name, Tom Jones.  I loved his brief TV Show, not for him especially, but he had some of the greatest guests, which I will attempt to dig up the videos and you be the judge.  The one with Little Richard is a classic.  Although he was considered a “Sex” symbol and adored by the ladies he was married to his wife Linda for 55 years until her death in April 2016.
bu05-bmp
unnamed
tom3
Videos:
The Tom Jones Show / 1969 to 1971 / He had some of the Great Soul Artist’s on, and the band just smoked.
1969 / with the great Janis Joplin /
.
1969 / with Little Richard in his prime /
.
1969 / Really Shakin’ singing Land of a Thousand Dances /
.
1969 / with “the Killer” Jerry Lee Lewis /
.
1969 / singing What’d I Say /
.
1969 / with Stevie Wonder /
.
Tom and Stevie later /
.
1969 / with my guy “Bobby Darin” /
1970 / with “Aretha” /
.
1970 / with Joe Cocker and the Grease Band /
.
1970 / with Ray Charles /
.
With Tina Turner /
.
Live singing Delilah /
.
Live It’s not unusual on Ed Sullivan /
.
Music:
(I am not a fan, so I will do the best I can with the music)
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I know that I have left quite a few out, sorry to the fans, but I just not an expert on Mr. Jones
For the first time I will break protocol.  I am not an expert on Tom Jones, but Wikipedia has a great Bio, so please read theirs https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Jones_(singer)
4 responses to “Tom Jones

  1. My very Favourite song of Tom Jones is “These Hands” To me that’s it’s Title. I love and always enjoy hearing Tom sing this song as he puts a heap of soul into it.,

  2. Offshore station Radio London was responsible for launching Tom Jones’s career, as the then-Programme Director Ben Toney tells in his memoir:

    http://www.radiolondon.co.uk/rl/bentoney/bookp4.html

    ‘With These Hands’ – mentioned above by Errol – reached #5 on the Big L Fab Forty

    http://www.radiolondon.co.uk/rl/scrap60/fabforty/65fabs/july65/fab250765/fab250765.html

  3. He was (or is) only a favourite of some ladies … I thought he was about as sexy as a visit to the dentist, mainly because he was so full of himself.

  4. Hi Gary, Did you get my response to your email about Tom and Keith Hampshire? Just asking because I’m never sure if the mail gets through.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

