Europe Rocks !

By Gary
The advent of Rock and Roll which came from Country, Blues and R&B can basically be credited to the Southern United States.  I have preached this sermon before, but the US & Canada gave up on True Rock and Roll far too early and it has not existed for about 20 years.  It had a great run, well over 40 years.  Let’s see if Justin Beiber’s music is played in 2057.  Trust me, there is no way I will know if this happens, but maybe my Grandchildren.  Now just because we abandoned the music, it appears as if many countries in Europe and the UK did not totally.
Remember with some of these groups English is NOT their first language
Europe, UK, Sweden, Finland still rock (I think)
This is an area that I have limited knowledge, so if I make a mistake or leave people out, I apologize.  This post is all PURE research, not much from experience of memory.  There are some groups that I have been listening to for maybe 10 years, but others, really new.  I have limited knowledge so some of the groups could have changed personnel many times or even broken up.
notesLine
Finland
Now this is a country that I would never have associated any form of Classic or 50’s & 60’s Rock and Roll, BUT here are a couple of examples.
fin1
Steve n’ Seagulls
.
Really AC/DC / Thunderstruck / Great Version /
.
 fin2
Finlanders / Roll Over Beethoven /
.
notesLine

Sweden

Now this group I have enjoyed for sometime!!
swed1
The Refreshments
.
The Fat Man / Antoine Domino’s 1949 song / well done by Johan Blohm and the Refreshments /
.
High School Confidential / Johan just rocks this one /
.
Here we Are /
.
Chuck Berry’s Let it Rock /
.
notesLine

Hungary

This group with the very simple name, based in Budapest, have been Rockin’ for 38 years.  They sometimes use two percussionists.
hungary1
The Old Boys
.
Roll Over Beethoven / with a Symphony Orchestra /
.
Do You Love Me /
.
Rockin’ All Over the World /
.
My Boy Lollipop /
.
Radar Love /
.
Don’t Be Cruel /
.
notesLine

Austria

Now who would have thought from the birthplace Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, we would find a group that I really enjoy.  I first heard them, in of all places, Myrtle Beach South Carolina at Fat Harold’s Beach Club, not in person but my first recording.  I have since them purchased their music, it is hard to find, but I was able to find other sources.
austria1
Banana Peel Slide (man this thing just rocks) /
.
One Day /
.
Boogie Woogie Country Girl /
.
Rockin’ in 2011 /
.
Chuck Berry’s Promised Land /
.
A Little Fat’s Domino’s “Sick and Tired” /
.
How about at little Jerry Lee Lewis from Andy Lee Lang!
andylee
Andy Lee Lang / Vienna
.
Whole Lotta Shakin’ Going On /
.
You don’t know me /
.
What’d I say /
.
Keep in mind for all of the above artists, English is definitely NOT their first language.
.
notesLine
And now for the United Kingdom.  I have followed some of the groups from England for some time.  They have an advantage that ENGLISH, is their first language and they have a Rock and Roll Legacy.  Even so, the music that I love is very much still alive and Kickin’ in the U.K.
Michael Barratt, although unknown in North American, has had a very successful career in the UK and Europe for over 30 years.  I am a traditionalist so I still prefer Shakin’ Stevens and the Sunsets.  This group could rock, but he would go on to be very successful on his own from the Eighties until now.
 shaken1shaken2

                          Shakin’ Stevens                                                   with the Sunsets     

.

1974 / Baby Let’s Play House /
.
Live at Musikladen /

.

Medley in 2011 /

.

1972 in Sweden with the Sunsets (they could Rock) /

Does the UK know Doo Wop or R&B, you bet!!

rocky-sharpe

Rocky Sharpe and the Replays / Rama Lama Ding Dong /

.

showaddywaddy

Showaddywaddy, just a great group

.

1978 / I wonder why /

.

1979 / Remember Then /

.

1980 / Dancin’ Party /

.

1975 / Three Stars & Rave On /

1975 & 2002 / Hey Rock n Roll /

&

.

You’ve Got What it Takes /

.

This next group is very current, but I believe the line-up has changed.

They are my favourite, not only do they have the same name as the Toronto Baseball Team, but they are great.

bluejays

The Blue Jays

.

This is the line-up I first heard a few years ago.

Compilation /

.

Not Fade Away /

.

Tallahassee Lassie /

.

That’s alright mama (on the beach) /

.

Early in the Morning (with the Glamophones) /

.

Lucille /

.

Santa Claus is back in Town (Elvis Song) /

.

It Doesn’t matter anymore (acoustic on the steps of the Natural History Museum) /

.

The new line-up (I think) Who do you Love /

.

Let’s not forget the Beatles and the Invasion. 

overtures

Today they have the Overtures

2014 / Beatles Happening /

.

2014 / Keep on Running /

.

&

Promo /

.

I am aware that I have missed or omitted a lot of groups, I apologize.

In my defense, I’m 76 and I just do not have that much time to research, this post took over two weeks alone.

I live in Canada, so Europe is an area I am not familiar with, but I try.

Gary

–o–

2 responses to “Europe Rocks !

  1. What a wonderful collection of videos. I am sure there are more but this will keep me busy for quite a while. Great work!

  2. What a delightful surprise! “Over the Pond” here in Canada, we Baby Boomers are not aware of these talented groups in Europe so thanks Gary and Russ for yet again expanding our musical world. It is most exciting to me as an orginial R&R gal, to see these groups perform, especially the charismatic Blue Jays and the very versatile Overtures (Bootleg 60’s Tributes) mostly because the audiences are young and enjoying our ol’ songs. Here is proof with nearly 60 years of singing and dancing that…”Rock & Roll is Here to Stay, It Will Never Die!”.

    Linda Thorn
    The Bruce Peninsula

Leave a Reply

