Gary’s Ballads

By Gary:

If you know me at all, I am and always will be a “Rocker”. But enjoying Ballads played an important part of my life. Well, first off I love to dance and it allowed me to meet girls when I was a Teenager. If I am totally honest one or two of my favourite songs are ballads, but I always love real Rock and Roll.

When I first became interested in “Our Music” it would have been around 1953, so a very different Hit Parade existed and R&B was hard to find, but with great effort we found it. I had an old “AM” Radio and I would attach a wire to the back as an antenna and late at night you would get the “skips” and I would get some great US Stations that played the new music.

In Toronto, CHUM Radio went total Rock and Roll on May 27, 1957, my birthday and it still holds the record for the longest Running Hits or Chum chart from 1957 to 1986, 29 years. In 1954 Elvis made me love Rock and Roll as did Fats, Little Richard, Bill Haley etc., but the ballads.

It’s very difficult for me to admit that one of the ballads from 1958 maybe my absolute favourite song, but I’m not sure. I loved to “Slow Dance” sometimes called “Grinding” because it meant I could hold a “Girl” close. I was a teenager, a male so what did you expect.

Not being a George Clooney in the looks department, dancing allowed me to date some of the prettiest girls in school, certainly not my looks.

I will take you back 65 years and admit openly to the songs that I really enjoyed that where “Ballads”.
————–

1954

The first year I really discovered Ballads would be 1954, three years before American Bandstand would hone my Dancing skills. So let’s get started.

I was only 14 but the first “Ballad” I really enjoyed and still do was:

1954 Recording

The Penguins – Earth Angel

1973 Video

Doo Wop on TV

From Back to The Future “Marty McFly” (Michael J Fox who was a musician in Vancouver)

(drunk, he accidentally shot himself on Christmas day 1954)

1954 Recording

Johnny Ace –  Pledging My Love

 

1955

I am now 15. Girls are becoming a priority, I am still a Rocker, but need to do the slow dancing. These are my songs from 1955

Not only did I see this group in Person at Maple Gardens, but I loved the voice of Tony Williams

My Dad enjoyed this group also, but The Great Pretender was my favourite (and I listened to the lyrics which for me was different)

The Platters – The Great Pretender

Then came Only You

I am and always will be a Rocker but two other songs from that year made me want to ask a girl to dance (it took a lot of courage, but I was getting better)

The Nutmegs – Story Untold

The Last song for me that year would have two great recordings, one from a blind singer and the other from Roy Hamilton. (My absolute favourite version of this song would come 10 years later by “The Righteous Brothers”.)

Al Hibbler – Unchained Melody

Roy Hamilton – Unchained Melody

1956

I was becoming a better dancer and had more courage to ask girls to dance and I was 16, look out!

This song will remain one of my all-time favourites, forever. Recorded in a Church basement, then attempted to be re-recorded professionally but, you guessed, it the use the basement recording.

The Five Satins – In the Still of the Night

The “B” side of Heartbreak Hotel helped me with the girls

Elvis – I Was The One

Also that year, Elvis – Love Me

I still have this Album

The Dells – Oh What a Night

The Heartbeats – A Thousand Miles Away

Live /

Recorded in late 56 and into 57

The great voice of Clyde McPhatter I enjoyed

Clyde McPhatter – Treasure of Love

The Flamingos had this out, but I actually enjoyed this version and purchased it

Pat Boone – I’ll Be Home

The Genie was out of the bottle, Rock and Roll was full throttle and the new ballads just did not stop. This will be the last I remember for 1956, but there were just so many

Ivory Joe Hunter – Since I met You baby

1957

Sam Cooke, what a great voice and the girls loved to dance to “You Send Me”. Unfortunately he would be shot to death in 1964, which is still questionable.

Sam Cooke – You Send Me

Live on the Ed Sullivan Show /

My next close dancing song would come from a Group called “The Rays”, everybody loved this one.

The Rays – Silhouettes

Ed Sullivan /

I really liked this song, stupid name for a groups “The Dubs” but just a great song.

The Dubs – Could this be Magic

&

One of the best girl groups, great R&B and Soul, I loved this song and so did the ladies. Man I loved this song, late 57 into 58

The Chantels – Maybe

So many great Soul Ballads and Johnny and Joe had one we all loved.

Johnnie & Joe – Over the mountain, across the Sea

One of the first great Birthday Songs by the Tune Weavers.

the Tune Weavers – Happy, Happy Birthday Baby

 

Not one of my favourite singers, but she was huge and the girls loved to dance to her music, SO I did too. Unfortunately later in life she had something happen to her, that NO woman should ever.

Connie Francis – Who’s Sorry Now

Live in 58 /

It was a fantastic year for girls and dancing. I missed a few, maybe Don’t by Elvis and couple of others, but It was a great year and I was growing up. American Bandstand was on everyday and I danced. I had a “steady” girl friend and for a 17 year old teenager, life was great.

1958

Could life get any better? – a girl friend, Rock and Roll, a part time job and, OH, yes school, I knew I left out something. Yes I should have done less dancing and more studying, but I also had one of the smartest girls in school and she did help me, somebody had to.

This very well could be my all-time favourite Ballad. Recorded by Jerry Butler and the Impressions, Dick Clark said it was too slow and would not make it. Well it was rare, but Dick was wrong.

Jerry Butler and the Impressions – For Your Precious Love

Jerry Live /

Now I thought “Nobody would ever sing this song better”, Well listen to Kenny Vance and the Planotones

This maybe my favourite / Remember he was the founding member of Jay and the Americans /

https://strathdee.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/jay-traynor-vs-jay-black-and-kenny-vance/

This was a great song 4 guys and 1 girl and they called themselves “The Skyliners”

The Skyliners – Since I don’t have You

live 2005 /

This is just a great song. Now Harold Jenkins and the House Rockers, spent a lot of time in Ontario in 57/58, but of course he changed his name to Conway Twitty and released “It’s Only Make Believe”.

Conway Twitty – It’s only Make Believe

Live 1990/

Another one of the great birthday songs that signify being 16, The Crests with the great voice of Johnny Maestro

Johnny Maestro – Sixteen Candles

Johnny Maestro live /

Unfortunately, Ritchie had less than a year to live when he released a song about his girlfriend “Donna”

Yes that’s Donna

Ritchie Valens – Donna

Another great R&B Ballad by the “Danleers” and One Summer Night, man we danced to this song.

Danleers – One Summer Night

Then there were the Shield with another R&B Ballad “You Cheated”.

the Shield – You Cheated

The Man from Windsor Ontario was really Rockin’ in 58 but he had some great ballads. Jack Scott(born Giovanni Domenico Scafone, Jr.).

Jack Scott – My True Love

and live /

There were so many great songs in 58 I will end it with the Late Great Earl Grant and “The End”

Earl Grant – The End

1959

1959 would be a great year with some great “Grindin’” songs. The first one is a song a haunting background by another bird group the Flamingos.

the Flamingos. – I only have eyes for you

.

live Dick Clark /

The next song is an all-time favourite, unfortunately the man who wrote Phillip Baptiste (Phil Phillips & the Twilights) never received ONE CENT to this day because, as usual, the record company. He was paid $6800 for one of the biggest songs, which has been recorded by Del Shannon, the Honey Drippers (Robert Plant) and that’s it. The music business is a very dirty business, to this day.

Phil Phillips and the Twilights –  Sea of Love

Robert Plant /

One of the better girl groups would have a great ballad in 1969 and R&B was still alive.

The Shirelles – Dedicated to the One I Love

with the Bandstand Dancers

 

The next song is really rare, an instrumental (that does not exist anymore) that was a Fantastic song to ask a girl to dance too.

Santo and Johnny – “Sleepwalk

.

and live /

Well Antoine would have Judy and me dancing close with this one.

Fats Domino –  “I want to walk you home

.

and live

 

The man from Windsor Ontario would have another one of my favourites.

Jack Scott (with the Chantones) – “What in the World’s Come over You” /

on Dick Clark /

 

One of my favourite singers “Rick Nelson” would record my favourite song of his that year.

Rick Nelson – Never be anyone else but you

1983 live /

 

There were a lot more that I could have included, but these are the ones that made the biggest impression on me and my girlfriend Judy, but alas 59 would be our last year together. It was a great two years, but we all move on.

 

The hard edge of Rock and Roll was gone, White Pop was now the standard created by the record companies and at times it got boring, but there were some great songs, like this one.

and live in 1964 /

A new comer would emerge, she was only 16 but under the control of Owen Bradley, she had a # 1 song this year.

Brenda Lee – I’m Sorry

and live

This for me was and is a great song, recorded in an Aircraft Hanger, by a 15 year old Rosie Hamlin. She wrote the poem when she was 14, but again, she was only 15 screwed by the record company and it included decades of legal battles, but she finally won. Unfortunately Rosie left us this year 2017 in March.

Man I love this song,

Rosie and the Originals – “Angel Baby” /

and the late Rosie Hamlin

 

New Girl friends, so I was dancing again and Kathy Young had a song I enjoyed that year.

Kathy Young and the Innocents – A Thousand Stars

live on PBS

.and in a hotel lobby 2010

1960

A great Ballad from the Safaris in 1960, I just had to find someone to dance with.


The Safaris – Image of a Girl

rehearsal in Hollywood live

 

This one would come from a TV Star and a TV Show, Connie Stevens and “Sixteen Reasons”.


Sorry, but I like this song /

Live /

 

There were many more great songs that year, BUT I was alone, no girl friend, working and going to school at night, so it was just Rocking on the Weekends.

1961

One of the true great ballads ever written would be a #1 hit for the former lead singer of the Drifters, Ben E. King and “Stand By Me”.

Ben E. King – Stand by Me / live 1961

A Group called The Jive Five would have a great song that year called “My True Story”, I really liked this song and it had a great R&B Groove.

The Jive Five – My True Story

At Little Darlin’s In Kissimmee Florida /

One of the Greatest Ballads, from Blue Hawaii and the King Elvis with, “Can’t Help Falling in Love”, love this song too.

Elvis –  Can’t help Falling in Love

From Blue Hawaii /

Aloha from Hawaii /

Another song I enjoyed an unknown named Troy Shondell would have me dancing to “This Time”.

Troy Shondell  – This Time

1999 live /

The Great Phil Spector would produce the Paris Sisters and “I love how you love me”

Listen to the Great Production by Phil Spector /

Paris Sisters – “I love how you love me

/ written by Barry Mann

We will go back to my R&B routes and listen to Slim Harpo and “Rainin’ in my Heart” another song I really enjoy.

This was great “Grindin’ Music” /

Slim Harpo – “Rainin’ in my Heart

The last for this year we will turn to the Big “O”, Roy Orbison and “Crying”, what can I say, it’s Roy.

Roy Orbison – Crying

1982 / Austin City Limits /

From Black & White Night (great DVD) /

I know I missed a lot of them, but I had a job, going to school and I got engaged, man I was in a different world, sorry I missed some.

1962

Well the engagement ended at the end of 62, so again a different year for me. I graduated from of my Night School courses and moved into the world of Data Processing and Computers. I was still dancing and going to the clubs to see my favourite groups, but my life was busier and more complicated.

The man from the 50’s would have me dancing again with “Bring it on home to me” the great Sam Cooke

Sam Cooke – Bring it on Home to Me

Motown was just starting to emerge and Smokey with the Miracles would have a great song. It was released late in the year so it would extend into 63.

the Miracles – You’ve really got a hold on me

and live in 64 /

In Toronto we had another version from “Little Caesar and the Consuls” (the group Russ still plays with) Smokey was huge but so was Little Caesar but not until 1964 /
You’ve really got a hold on me

This is a song I really liked and my future wife to be danced with the Lead Singer in Florida, well before I met her, The Cascades “Rhythm of the Rain”.

The Cascades  – Rhythm of the Rain

and live

A great Soul Ballad that year by Ketty Lester “Love Letters”.

Ketty Lester – Love Letters

and live in 1999 /

Remember I was a little busy this year so I missed a lot, but the great Man Ray Charles, had me on the floor dancing.

Ray Charles – I can’t stop loving You

and live 1972 /

1963

Well, I was still going to night school, still Rockin’, but no real girl friend. So I was back to the dating scene and learning a lot about the new field of “Data Processing”.

The Beatles would have a great influence this year, but old stand by Beach Boys would have Two great Ballads.

Beach Boys – Surfer Girl

and live in 64 /

My Favourite / In my Room /

and live in 64 /

and /

A great R&B Ballad by Garnet Mimms & the Enchanters “Cry Baby”, love this song.

 

Garnet Mimms & the Enchanters – Cry Baby

 

Dale Houston and Grace Broussard got together in 63 and recorded an older song “I’m leaving it up to you”

Dale & Grace – I’m leaving it up to you

live /

My tastes were changing, I was 23, the music was changing, not quite as many dancing ballads in 1963, for me anyways.

1964

This would be a better year for ballads. I was still in the new computer field, was a true “Car Guy” (I think they also replaced the girls). The Righteous Brother would have a great rendition of an old song (my wife’s favourite) You’ve Lost the Lovin’ Feeling. Remember a great Phil Spector Production.

The Righteous Brothers – You’ve lost that Lovin’ Feeling

and live /

We would hear from Motown and the Temptations with “My Girl”.

The Temptations – My Girl

and live /

We would be dancing to a ballad from the Rolling Stones, “Time is on my Side”.

Rolling Stones –  “Time is on my Side

and live on Ed Sullivan /

A great singer from England Dusty Springfield would record another of my favourites “Wishin’ and Hopin’.

Dusty Springfield –  “Wishin’ and Hopin’.

and live /

It was 1964 so there had to be a Beatles song and there was “And I Love Her”.

The Beatles – And I Love her

1965
I bought another new car this year, that’s 4 in 5 years. The Beatles or Paul McCartney would record a classic this year.

The Beatles – Yesterday

and live /

I am now 25, still single, but would get engaged later in the year and it would not last. I enjoyed Barbara Lewis this year with a great R&B Ballad.

Barbara Lewis – Baby I’m Yours

and live /

The Big Man, one of my all time Favourites, “Otis” would have me dancing. Man, I love this song and Otis.

Otis Redding – I’ve been Loving You

and live /

I will end the year with an old Al Hibbler Song re-done by the Righteous Brothers. Man, Bobby had a voice.

Righteous Brothers – Unchained melody

and live /

1966

I would get engaged for the last time 3/4 of the way through the year and would be married in 1967. A true Classic would be huge this year for a singer name Percy Sledge.

Percy Sledge – When a man loves a woman

and live /

The Association would be heard from in 66 and in 67 with my favourite Never my Love, but in 66 it was Cherish.

The Association – Cherish

and live in 67 /

It was a different time for me so ballads were not as important, but I was still Rockin’

1967

Aretha would record one of her classics in 67 “A Natural Woman” .

Aretha Franklin – A natural Woman

and live in 67 /

and at the Kennedy

We would be introduced to the Brothers Gibb this year and a great song “To Love Somebody”

The GeeGees – To Love Somebody

and live in Las Vegas in 1997 /

The Association would record my favourite song of theirs “Never My Love”.

The Association –  Never My Love

and live in 1968 /

The last two ballads for this year will come from British Groups, The Stones and The Beatles. The Beatles “All you need is Love”

The Beatles – All you need is love

and live /

https://vimeo.com/176129699

The Rolling Stones would give us “Ruby Tuesday”.

The Rolling Stone – Ruby Tuesday

and live 1967 Ed Sullivan /

With a new wife, new career change later in the year, and Expo 67 things were changing for me and music was not quite as important, but I was still Rockin’. I will end my little stroll down memory lane in 1967, I was still buying records, still into music, but in three years I would be a father. I have 3 Daughters and 6 grandchildren and the strongest impact ballads had on me was during my Teen and Single years. I know that I have missed or omitted many of your favourite Ballads, but remember, these are the ones that made the biggest impression on an individual who thrives on the Original Concept of Rock and Roll including Rockabilly.

Gary

My First Wife Charlene and my 2nd wife and present Love of my Life “Birgit”.

–o–

6 responses to “Gary’s Ballads

  1. Wow….

    Great stuff

    Amazing job putting this together

    Cudos….

    Brian >

  2. Wow….a masterful diary of song.

  3. Well done Gary, I must mention that in the 50’s in the midst of rock & rolls popularity i discovered Johnny Mathis and his vocals gave me a real appreciation of the old standards.

  4. Hugh "BABE" O'Donnell

    Gary nice information about the music that helped you in life at the dances and romances. Looks like you have a great family. When you mention THE SKYLINERS one of many Pittsburgh, Pa. groups I went to school with Janet Vogel who sings the high notes and know Jimmy BEAUMONT the lead singer. Every song you mentioned since my thrilling life as a DISC JOCKEY has been played to worn-out RECORDS at TEENAGE DANCES. BARS, CLUBS and WEDDINGS. Enjoy what music has done for our lives of fun and entertainment. The good times are still here and forever.

    Your MUSICAL friend and admirer.

    THE EMPEROR OF CAR CRUISES AND PARTIES

    HUGH “BABE” O’DONNELL

  5. YOUR LAST E-MAIL ABOUT THE GREAT BALLADS MENTIONED THE SKYLINERS.

    ON SATURDAY OCTOBER 6, 2017 THE LEAD SINGER AND WRITER OF “SINCE I DON”T HAVE YOU’ PASSED AWAY.

    IN HONOR OF THE GREAT PITTSBURGH SKYLINERS IT WOULD BE NICE IF YOU POSTED THIS INFORMATION TO YOUR MANY FOLLOWERS. THANKS

    jimmy’s FRIEND AND FAVORITE DISC JOCKEY.

    THE EMPPEROR OF MUSIC AND DANCES

    HUGH “BABE’ O”DONNELL

    Sent from Outlook

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

