Daily Archives: May 19, 2017

Ike Turner and the Kings of Rhythm

By Gary-

Ike Turner:  Immediately a lot of my followers will be turned off because of the movie “What’s Love Got to do with it”.  OK, so before all of you gang up on me, I want you to realize that I do not approve of any spousal violence.

Ike has been gone for several years and, no matter what you think of his private life, I want you to consider only the Music part of it.  Yes, I know this will be controversial but I am a big fan of his “Music”, not him as a functioning part of society. 

You can say what you want but Ike did record what is considered the “First” Rock and Roll Record in 1951.  I do not agree with this selection, but a lot of people agree.  That song has been credited to Jackie Brenston and  his Delta Cats, but it really was Ike Turner and his Kings of Rhythm with Brenston being the sax player. 

Ike had a horrible life during childhood. He was raped and treated terribly; I’m amazed he survived. He did claim to have 11 wives, of which I guess Anna Mae Bullock was the most famous; she was no Angel, but a great singer. 

Look into Tina’s Biography: Ike was really bad, but Tina was no angel either.  I digress. 

Ike was paid a total $20 for Rocket 88, the first Rock and Roll record.  He was self taught; piano first then guitar. He was a tough Task Master. That’s why the Kings of Rhythm were such a Tight Band. 

All I ask is that you just look at the music; Ike Turner was definitely not “Father of the Year”, but man he rocked R&B like nobody else.

Ike Turner (1931-2007)
Videos

1959 / (Rare) Ike Turner and The Kings Of Rhythm. Party Time-Complete-1959 / 

.

2002 /  North Sea Jazz Festival / Ike Turner & The Rhythm Kings – Live In Concert (DVD)

.

2002 / North Sea Jazz Festival / Rocket 88 / 

.

2002 / Steel Guitar Rag (the man could play) / 

.

2004 / Vienna Jazz Festival /

.
Baby Get it On / Rehearsal /

.
.
Music
(I will include some songs with Tina)
1951 / : “Rocket “88” / “Come Back To Where You Belong“, recorded at Sam Phillips’ studio in Memphis, Tennessee, on March 3 or 5, 1951 (Ike Turner and his band, the Kings of Rhythm; with Jackie Brenston, saxophonist and occasional singer, credited as writer) /
.
1960 / A fool in Love / written by Ike and recorded with Tina
.
1961 / I Idolize you / written by Ike and recorded with Tina
.
.
Here are a couple of songs from over 60 years ago by Ike Turner and the Kings of Rhythm
.
.
For the rest of the story and music go to https://strathdee.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/ike-and-tina-turner/
 .
.
The absolute best Biography is Wikipedia, there is no way in the world I could match this in depth look, please read it the facts will set a lot of things straight. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ike_Turner
–o–